The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to constitute a Cabinet Committee on Information Technology with the following composition and functions:-

COMPOSITION

Shri Pramod Mahajan,
Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and
Minister of Information Technology.

Shri Murasoli Maran, Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Communications.

Shri Arun Jaitely,
Minister of State (Independent charge) of the
Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and
Minister of State (Independent charge) of the
Department of Disinvestment.

[Whenever Committee considers proposals having financial implications, the Minister of Finance would also be invited to the meetings of the Committee].

FUNCTIONS

- (i) To consider and decide all policy matters relating to Information technology;
- (ii) to consider and decide upon the measures fiscal, financial and institutional - required to enhance investment in IT Sector; and
- (iii) to periodically monitor the development of the IT sector and to identify bottlenecks, if any.

(P./Gopalakrishnan) for Cabinet Secretary Tele:3015802