The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to constitute the Cabinet Committee on Infrastructure with the following composition and functions:-

COMPOSITION

Prime Minister.

Shri P. Chidambaram, Minister of Finance.

Petroleum and Natural Gas.

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Railways.

Shri T.G. Venkatraman, Minister of Surface Transport.

Prof. Madhu Dandavete, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

Smt. Kanti Singh, Minister of State (Independent charge) of the Ministry of Coal.

Special Invitees

Dr. S. Venugopalachari, Minister of State in the Ministry of Power and Minister of State in the Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources. Shri T.R. Baalu, Minister of State in the Ministry of

FUNCTIONS

- to consider and decide upon the measures fiscal, financial and legal - required to enhance investment in the infrastructure sector;
- ii) to consider the perspective plans of the infrastructure sectors to meet the demands of the economy;
- iii) to monitor on continuous basis the progress in implementation of infrastructure projects costing more than Rs. 100 crores in sectors like railways, coal, steel, power, surface transport and in other sectors which may be of critical importance to the economy;
- iv) to consider factors which may be adversely affecting implementation of projects of the type indicated in (iii) above and to decide upon remedial measures; and

v) to review and bring about improvements in procedures having a bearing on the formulation and execution of projects, including preparation of feasibility reports, sanctions, finalisation of tenders and adoption of project management systems.

for Cabinet Secretary Tele: 3015802