The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to revise the composition of the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs as under :-

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Railways. Shri Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, Minister of Welfare. Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya, Minister of Steel and Minister of Mines. Shri Chaturanan Mishra, Minister of Agriculture. Shri I.K. Gujral, Minister of External Affairs. Shri Janeshwar Mishra, Minister of Water Resources. Shri R.L. Jalappa, Minister of Textiles. Shri Srikanta Kumar Jena, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of Tourism. Shri T.G. Venkatraman, Minister of Surface Transport. Shri Yerran Naidu K., Minister of Rural Areas and Employment. Shri Ramakant D. Khalap, Minister of State (Independent charge) of the Department of Legal Affairs, Legislative Department and Department of Justice. Shri S.R. Balasubramoniyan, Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs. Dr. U. Venkateswarlu, Minister of State in the Ministry of Urban Affairs and Employment and Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

- 2. The functions of the Committee continue to remain as follows:-
  - To watch the progress of Government business in Parliament and to give such directions as may be necessary from time to time, in order to secure smooth and efficient conduct of such business;
  - ii) to scrutinise, and to consider the attitude of the Government on, non-official bills and resolutions to be presented to Parliament;

- iii) to maintain a review from an all-India point of view of legislations undertaken by State Legislatures; and
- iv) to consider proposals to summon or prorogue the Houses of Parliament.

3. The Committee will continue to be serviced by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

for Cabinet Secretary
Tele: 3015802