The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of Prime Minister, to revise the composition of the following Cabinet Committees as under:-

1. CABINET COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS.

Prime Minister.
Minister in-charge of the concerned Ministry.

2. CABINET COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AFFAIRS.

Prime Minister.
Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav,
Minister of Food and Minister of Civil
Supplies, Consumer Affairs and Public
Distribution and Minister of Commerce.
Shri Murasoli Maran,
Minister of Industry.
Shri P. Chidambaram,
Minister of Finance and Minister of Law,
Justice and Company Affairs.
Shri Yerran Naidu,
Minister of Rural Areas and Employment.

3. CABINET COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL AFFAIRS.

Prime Minister. Shri Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, Minister of Welfare and Minister of Labour. Shri C.M. Ibrahim, Minister of Civil Aviation and Tourism and Minister of Information and Broadcasting. Shri I.K. Gujral, Minister of External Affairs and Minister of Water Resources. Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav, Minister of Defence. Shri P. Chidambaram, Minister of Finance and Minister of Law Justice and Company Affairs. Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Railways and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

2. For the present, there is no change in the functions of the above three Committees.

3. Orders in respect of the composition and functions of the other standing and ad-hoc Committees of the Cabinet will be conveyed in due course.

for Cabinet Secretary Tele:3012835