New Delhi, the <u>10th July, 2002</u>. 19 Asadha, 1924(S)

The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to revise the composition of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, Cabinet Committee on Economic Reforms and Cabinet Committee on Security.

2. The revised composition of the above Cabinet Committees and their functions are as under : -

(i) Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs.

Composition

**Prime Minister** 

Shri L.K. Advani,

Deputy Prime Minister.

Shri Ved Prakash Goyal,

Minister of Shipping.

Shri K. Jana Krishnamurthy,

Minister of Law and Justice.

Shri Pramod Mahajan,

Minister Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of

Communications and Information Technology.

Shri Murasoli Maran,

Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Shri Ram Naik,

Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas.

Shri Nitish Kumar,

Minister of Railways.

Shri Suresh Prabhu,

Minister of Power.

Shri Arjun Charan Sethi,

Minister of Water Resources.

Shri Shanta Kumar,

Minister of Rural Development.

Shri Arun Shourie,

Minister of Disinvestment and Minister of Development

of North Eastern Region.

Shri Ajit Singh,

Minister of Agriculture.

Shri Jaswant Singh,

Minister of Finance and Company Affairs.

Shri Yashwant Sinha,

Minister of External Affairs.

#### Special Invitees

Shri K.C. Pant,

Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

Shri T.R. Baalu,

Minister of Environment and Forests.

Shri Jagmohan,

Minister of Tourism and Culture.

#### Functions

6

- To review on a continuous basis economic trends, problems and prospects with a view to evolving a consistent and integrated economic policy framework for the country;
- ii) to direct and coordinate all activities in the economic field including foreign investment, requiring policy decisions at the highest level;
- iii) to deal with matters relating to fixation of prices of agricultural products and price controls of industrial raw materials and products, industrial licensing policies and foreign investment policies;
- iv) to deal with price increases of essential commodities or bulk goods under any form of formal or informal control including increase in salaries or wages in the case of a large number of employees;
- v) to lay down priorities for public sector investment and to consider specified proposals for investment as cleared by the Public Investment Board;
- vi) to deal with industrial licensing cases involving proposals from Central Ministries for the establishment of Joint Sector Undertakings;
- vii) to review the performance of Public Sector Enterprises;
- viii) to review progress for rural development including that relating to small and marginal farmers;
- ix) to consider and decide upon the measures fiscal, financial, institutional and legal - required to enhance investment in the infrastructure sector, including grant of requisite approvals to facilitate private sector investment in specific projects;
- to review the progress in implementation of infrastructure projects costing more than Rs. 100 crores in sectors like railways, coal, steel, power, surface transport and in other infrastructure sectors which may be of critical importance to the economy; and
- to facilitate finalization of a factual report on the accomplishments of the Central Ministries, Agencies and PSUs involved in implementation of prioritised schemes/projects for evaluation by Prime Minister.

-2-

....3/-

(ii)

## Cabinet Committee on Economic Reforms.

## Composition

Prime Minister

Shri L.K. Advani,

Deputy Prime Minister.

Shri K. Jana Krishnamurthy,

Minister of Law & Justice.

Shri Murasoli Maran,

Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Shri Shanta Kumar,

Minister of Rural Development.

Shri Arun Shourie,

Minister of Disinvestment and Minister of Development

of North Eastern Region.

Shri Ajit Singh,

Minister of Agriculture.

Shri Jaswant Singh,

Minister of Finance and Company Affairs.

Shri Yashwant Sinha,

Minister of External Affairs.

Shri K.C. Pant,

Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

### Special Invitee

Smt. Vasundhara Raje,

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Small Scale Industries, Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Ministry of Planning, Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space.

## Functions

- (i) to oversee, direct and facilitate policy and institutional reforms; and
- to receive and consider reports on progress of policy and institutional reforms and finalize a factual report on the accomplishments of the Central Ministries, Line Agencies, and PSUs for evaluation by the Prime Minister.
- (iii) Cabinet Committee on Security

#### Composition

Prime Minister. Shri L.K. Advani, Deputy Prime Minister. Shri George Fernandes, Minister of Defence. Shri Jaswant Singh, Minister of Finance and Company Affairs. Shri Yashwant Sinha, Minister of External Affairs.

Special Invitee

· · · ·

Shri K.C. Pant, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

# Functions

To deal with defence-related issues as also any other economic or political matter impinging upon national security.

(P.<sup>I</sup>Gopalakrishnan) for Cabinet Secretary Tele: 3015802

- 4 -