The undersigned is directed to say that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to constitute a Cabinet Committee on Environment with the following composition and functions :-

Composition

Prime Minister.

Shri T.R. Baalu,

Minister of Environment and Forests.

Ms. Mamata Banerjee,

Minister of Railways..

Shri Sukhdev Singh, Dhindsa,

Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports

& Minister of Mines.

Shri Jagmohan,

Minister of Urban Development and

Poverty Alleviation.

Shri P.R. Kumaramangalam,

Minister of Power.

Shri Murasoli Maran,

Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Shri Ram Naik,

Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas.

Shri Suresh Prabhu,

Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.

Shri Rajnath Singh,

Minister of Surface Transport. Shri Yashwant Sinha,

Minister of Finance.

Dr. C.P. Thakur,

Minister of Health and Family Welfare.

Functions

To holistically look into all aspects relating to pollution control, environmental degradation, waste management, etc.

> (P. Gopalakrishnan) for Cabinet Secretary Tele:3015802