New Delhi, the 8<sup>th</sup> September, 2004. 17 Bhadrapada, 1926 (S)

Subject: Cabinet Committee on Management of Natural Calamities.

Reference Cabinet Secretariat Memo of even number dated the 11<sup>th</sup> August, 2004 regarding constitution of a Cabinet Committee on 'Drought Management'. It has since been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to re-designate the Cabinet Committee on Drought Management as the Cabinet Committee on Management of Natural Calamities.

2. The composition of the Committee are as below :-

Prime Minister.

Shri Sharad Pawar,

Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.

Shri Lalu Prasad.

Minister of Railways.

Shri P. Chidambaram,

Minister of Finance.

Shri P.M. Sayeed,

Minister of Power.

Shri Raghuvansh Prasad Singh,

Minister of Rural Development.

Shri Priyaranjan Dasmunsi,

Minister of Water Resources.

Shri A. Raia.

Minister of Environment & Forests.

## Special Invitee

Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia,

Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

- 3. The functions of the Committee will be as below :-
  - to oversee all aspects relating to management of natural calamities including assessment of the situation and identification of measures considered necessary to reduce its impact;
  - (ii) to examine and implement programmes for reducing the adverse impact of natural calamities;
  - (iii) to monitor and suggest long term measures for prevention of such calamities in future; and
  - (iv) to formulate and recommend programmes for public awareness for building up society's resilience to natural calamities.

\*BBB\* 200 copies. 4. The Committee will be serviced by the Ministry of Home Affairs in all cases except in the cases relating to Drought Management, in which case, it will be serviced by the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation.

(K.L. Sharma) for Cabinet Secretary Tele: 2301 5802