New Delhi, the 11th August, 2004. 20 Sarvana, 1926 (S)

Subject: Constitution of a Cabinet Committee on Drought Management.

It has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to constitute the Cabinet Committee on Drought Management. The composition of the Committee is as below:-

Prime Minister.

Shri Sharad Pawar.

Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.

Shri Lalu Prasad,

Minister of Railways.

Shri P. Chidambaram,

Minister of Finance.

Shri P.M. Sayeed,

Minister of Power.

Shri Raghuvansh Prasad Singh,

Minister of Rural Development,

Shri Priyaranjan Dasmunsi,

Minister of Water Resources.

Shri A. Raja.

Minister of Environment & Forests.

Special Invitee

Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.

- 2. The Cabinet Committee on Drought Management will oversee all aspects relating to management of drought including assessment of the situation, identification and activation of measures considered necessary to reduce its impact of drought and monitoring the progress of the implementation of the decisions taken.
- 3. The Committee will be serviced by the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation.

(K.L. Sharma) for Cabinet Secretary Tele: 2301.5802