.21-

Subject :

Composition of Cabinet Committees.

The undersigned is directed to state that it has been decided, with the approval of the Prime Minister, to constitute the following Cabinet Committees :-

i) Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs.

Composition

Prime Minister.

- Shri Pranab Mukherjee, Minister of Defence.
- Shri Arjun Singh, Minister of Human Resource Development.
 - Shri Sharad Pawar, Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution.

Shri Lalu Prasad, Minister of Railways.

Shri Shivraj V. Patil, Minister of Home Affairs.

Shri P. Chidambaram, Minister of Finance.

Shri K. Natwar Singh, Minister of External Affairs.

Shri Dayanidhi Maran, Minister of Communications & Information Technology.

Functions

E)

iii)

To deal with problems relating to Centre-State relations;

To consider economic and political issues that have to be judged with a wider perspective; and

To deal with policy matters concerning foreign affairs that do not have external or internal security implications.

ii) Cabinet Committee on Security.

Composition

Prime Minister.

Shri Pranab Mukherjee, Minister of Defence.

Shrl Shivraj V. Patil, Minister of Home Affairs.

- Shri P. Chidambaram, Minister of Finance.
- Shri K. Natwar Singh, Minister of External Affairs.

BBB 200 copies.

Functions

To deal with all Defence related issues;

ii) To deal with law and order and internal security related issues;

iii) To deal with policy matters concerning foreign affairs that have internal or external security implications; and

iv)

i)

Economic and political issues impinging on national security.

(K.L. Sharma) for Cabinet Secretary Tele: 2301 5802